Let it go or let it consume you.

NYC

I walked down the long dim path towards downtown. It had just stopped raining and my glasses were a fogged up. I saw you there, just standing there, looking off into… well, who knows I guess.

“Hey guy, you alright?” I asked you as I tapped your shoulder.

You  turned your head and looked me in the eyes with the most empty gaze I have ever seen. I was a bit frightening i must admit.

“Well, uh, you need a phone or some shit? Mines almost dead but you can-”

You cut me off with a hay-maker to my throat  and I fell pretty hard. Pretty sure I blacked out. Yeah I did. I woke up about 5 minutes later, still trying to catch my breath, looked around for you but, you were nowhere to be seen. “where the fuck?” I said to myself, confused and in pain. I still wonder why you smashed my throat fro no reason, I only tried to help you, but I guess there is no helping someone like you. I remember your eyes that day, empty, almost white pupils. Maybe you’re a demon or a ghost. Maybe you’re just a jack off, sociopath with some serious issues.

Some weeks went by and I eventually forgot about you and went on with my life. My business meeting was in 15 minutes and I was stuck in traffic, somehow I always get caught in the most cliched situations. I even spilled my coffee on my lap rushing out the door this morning. Fuck. I must be living a really bad movie, hope its not a Michael Bay movie, cause we all know how those movies go. Anyways, here I was stuck in traffic about to be late for this meeting, and its a big one. No one is making partner or anything like that, if my life was that cliched I would have hung myself by now. No, just a firing. An unhappy client (we do investments in stocks and bonds and handle 401ks and that type of bullshit) had come in to complain about his stocks getting switched around with the wrong ones and then they cancelled, so someone was getting the chopping block and it was looking pretty grim for me.

This guy was really calm about it though, it was creepy how calm he was like if we didn’t do anything he would walk away and 2 weeks later the whole building would blow up. Passive aggressive people are not good to mess with. So we fix this guys investment fund and everything is all good, no one got fired. But there was just one thing amiss. There was a feeling in the room now, the man had left to the lobby already, but he seemed to leave behind a very unsettling feeling. It was just me though, none of my co-workers said anything about it or acted any different. I went to the lobby to quell my suspicions. The man turned around and winked at me and then I recognized his eyes. It was that same guy who assaulted me some weeks back. I walked up to him to say something and he turned around and started walking away with an ever quickening pace.

“HEY! Come back here!” I yelled but it did nothing to stop him from continuing his get away. “Hey YOU! Get the fuck back here, I got some shit we need to talk about! I know what you look like, I’ll file charges and you’ll be put away for life!” I was running after him at this point and my co-workers were looking at me like I was nuts. Maybe I was nuts. In hindsight I should have just let it go, but that’s not me. We were now running full throttle through streets of downtown and I was yelling at him the whole time. He didn’t seem to loose any stamina, i was sure feeling it though.

He swerved through traffic and jumped over a few cars and lo and behold, a moving truck gets between us, rendering my chase for him over. I was sure that by the time the traffic had cleared he would be gone, as my life is so cliched it just seemed a natural assumption. Traffic cleared and he was standing there. We locked eyes and he gave me a smirk that said, “Come get me.” Tunnel vision had kicked in and I ran for him, hard and fast.

Did I mention my life was kind of like a cliche movie?

About advilsmith

I enjoy writing nonsense and things I find funny but may be and are probably inappropriate to other people. I also enjoy a good rant every now and then. I have maintained several blogs in the past and all are just filled with ridiculous content. I believe the internet is here so I may extrude my strange thoughts and odd stories upon the masses. For what is the internet if not a place to reach out and entertain, inform, and be insane?
This entry was posted in Insanity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

