Good Memories

I once had a dog, his name was Jack.
Everyday we’d be on some adventure or mission, sometimes we would just sit
down by the river. We were inseparable us two. Destined for greatness, I
could see it so clearly then. Me and jack the first best friends to land on
the moon ever, it was gonna be great. So I went out to my dads garage and
put together a spaceship. It had a window and an engine that was really
just a bunch of spray paint cans taped together. It had the tail-fins and
landing gear. It was all so perfect.

I used the next whole week after school and homework to prepare for launch,
kids were gonna be talking about me and jack forever!

It was launch day and everything was perfect, right down to the neon yellow
and black duct taping on the launch pad.
“Engines starting!” I said in my best professional voice, “T minus 5
minutes to launch.”
I called for Jack, he was my co-pilot after all.
“Jack! Come here boy! Time to make history we gotta land on the moon and
stick OUR flag up there!” Our flag was an off white pillow case with our
hand and paw prints on it and our names.

I could hear him barking, he sounded as excited as I was. I ran out the
front yard and saw him playing with the neighbors dog and Susie, she went
to my school.
“Come on Jack we got a rocket to fly!” I whistled and he came running as
fast as he could across the road, but before I could even pet him one last
time a big blue truck took m best friend away from me.

******

That was 68 years ago now. I never did get to land on the moon. In fact I
never even got to see a moon landing and I never had another dog either. I
still have that rocket and launch pad in my garage. I tried giving it to my
son but he didn’t want to ‘make history’ like his old man did. Maybe
someday after I’m long gone, some kid will have my same vision and can use
that old rickety contraption to visit his moon and then me and Jack can
finally make history together.

About advilsmith

I enjoy writing nonsense and things I find funny but may be and are probably inappropriate to other people. I also enjoy a good rant every now and then. I have maintained several blogs in the past and all are just filled with ridiculous content. I believe the internet is here so I may extrude my strange thoughts and odd stories upon the masses. For what is the internet if not a place to reach out and entertain, inform, and be insane?
This entry was posted in Insanity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

